Trigger Happy

Passage: Philippians 1:3-6 (MSG)

“Every time you cross my mind, I break out in exclamations of thanks to God. Each exclamation is a trigger to prayer. I find myself praying for you with a glad heart. I am so pleased that you have continued on in this with us, believing and proclaiming God’s Message, from the day you heard it right up to the present. There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.”

As I was reading this passage today, some important people crossed my mind today that have been very influential to me throughout my life and also to my family. Does saying that mean I’m old? Nah…So, I thought I would point them out to you and maybe this post will trigger you to take some time to think about who in your life has made an impact that still affects your life today. Maybe you can contact them or just pray for them.

So here goes,

Troy Collins: 1st Youth Pastor – never gave up on who I was, even when I caused more trouble in youth group but always showed me tough love when I needed it. Helped pave the way for me coming to Christ.

Eric Slavich: great, devoted friend that showed me why I needed Jesus and never gave up on me.

Terry Huey: gave me my 1st taste of leading worship away from church I grew up in. Gave me a chance to be a part of his life, his family and ministry. Helped me see that God was leading to college to get educated (if that is even the right term, in youth ministry). Because of this, I wouldn’t be where I am at today and I can still say that Terry is great friend. (Hope we can get to GA to see you soon!!)

Murray and Mandy Shaw, David Galbraith, Stephanie and Scot W., Laura York, Lori Brown : you guys were the craziest peeps I had ever met when I 1st came to Clear Branch. I had just recently decided to let go of all of my HS friends and trust God to provide me with some friends that I could grow with and hang-out with. You guys did that for me. I am so glad that we are still friends today!

Mickey Clark: while in college you gave me the chance to grow and learn underneath you at Grace Point. Thank you for allowing me serve with you and the staff. The opportunities that you gave me to lead worship, teach students and plan events has helped me tremendously over the last few years.

Jamin and April Carter, Josh and Nikki Becthel: thank you guys for being open to us at North River and building relationships with you guys! We miss seeing you guys and can’t wait to see you again. You guys helped us settle in and help us transition at North River. You guys also have awesome kiddos and we love seeing them grow up!!

My Mom and Dad: even though life has been tough being in a divorced family, I have grown and learned alot from you guys. Dad, teaching me to always work hard at what I do and always believing in me in what I wanted to do in life. Mom, thank you for always loving me when it was tough to do and always pushing me to do what makes me happy. Thank you for loving us when we are away from home.

Elisabeth Smith: thank you for coming to Lee. Thank you for not leaving me because I was stubborn and wanting to make the right choice, obviously I did :). I am so grateful to have you as my wife, my friend and mother of Aubrey! You have been with me through tough times and great times. You have always trusted me and believed in me and the direction that God was leading our family. You are an awesome mom to Aubrey and I can’t wait to see you interact with her as she gets older!

Weaver, Lansford, Miller, New, Shaw, Ramos, Barnett, Hill, Nunez, Peek,  and Austin families……you guys helped us make the transition to Grace Bible Church and helped us have a family away from our families. Thank you for always asking about us and helping us out when needed. You are great friends to have and we are glad to be a part of your lives.

So who has impacted your life and why? Take some time to tell them that you are grateful for the time they have spent with and the things they have taught you or helped you through.

Aaron

Leave a Reply

